AOF: 2015 Inkitt Reviews

Here is a collection of reviews from Inkitt for The Art of Falling from 2015.

I fell for this story ★ ★ ★ ★ ★

“As someone who’s been entranced with the premise of this story since its inception, I’m so, so pleased to see it in in all its finished glory. The characterization is diverse, and the conflicts this inevitably begins is delicious to read. I couldn’t put it down when I first read it; I finished the whole book in one sitting!” – Kaylen Rayne (Aug 23, 2015)

A must read! ★ ★ ★ ★ ★

“I enjoyed this book very much. The characters are so well defined that you really get invested in them. I was switching sides throughout the book! The detailed descriptions of the locations give you a clear visual and make you feel like you’re actually there. The story keeps moving and throws in a couple of surprises. I couldn’t stop reading!” – Dee Purple (Aug 24, 2015)

An enjoyable ride from start to finish ★ ★ ★ ★ ☆

“I really enjoyed reading this story. The protagonists are super fun to read and the author does a really good job of putting you in the moment with everything. For the entire time that I was reading, I felt like I really was in every location, with every moment, and feeling everything that the characters felt. The pacing was perfectly done and the amount of imagery and allusion to mythology and religion and just the fresh take on a lot of things was really fun. I would have liked to see just a bit more action and adventure in the story, but honestly, that comes down to my own personal preference. I would absolutely recommend giving this story the time to read, you definitely won’t be disappointed” – Hidden Cube (Aug 25, 2015)

Piqued My Interest ★ ★ ★ ★ ★

“While the forbidden love concept is an old one, and while there have been variations involving angels and demons, I find this one to be quite refreshing. After all, it isn’t always about coming up with something that’s never been done before–that would be impossible, really. It’s about creating something that, while it holds familiar concepts, has a fresher perspective on those same concepts; a life of its own amidst the sea of other tales like it. 🙂 You have accomplished this, I believe. I am eager to read more, and as I do, more will be added to the review. Best of luck in the Wanderlust competition.

Edit: “Continuing on after reading fifteen chapters. 🙂 With other forms of Mythos being incorporated into this story of angels and demons, I find myself more and more intrigued with this world you’ve created–especially when it comes to Greek and Egyptian Mythology (two of my favourites). I look forward to reading more of this story, and seeing just what happens; will Regal succeed in making Keir fall, or will Keir succeed in making him ascend? Even as far into the story as I am, I can’t tell which way it will go–if either–and that’s excellent. It means you’re keeping your readership on their toes.”

Edit: “Now that I’ve officially finished reading the story, I can say with all certainty it is the kind of book I would love to see on my shelf. Now on to the critique: there are aspects that could be improved upon. One minor complaint I have is the repetition. There were points where you stated the same thing in almost the exact same way within a single paragraph. Other issues I came across were of the technical variety — mostly in the form of typos, though there was the odd misspelling and wrongly placed word, as well. There were some issues — in particular — where you jumped back and forth between present and past tense. In [the final chapters] there [were] continuity errors. Now, critique aside, I really did enjoy this story, and I really, really hope that there’s a sequel, because I cannot believe it ends, there. :)” – Shannon Rohrer (Aug 25, 2015)

Couldn’t put it down! ★ ★ ★ ★ ★

“Excellent work, very intriguing, well thought out characters! I got caught up in it and time flew. Can’t wait for the next installment! Ms. Cojo has an excellent imagination and her timing of events is very fluid.” – Colleen Kidd Dyer (Sep 2, 2015)

Beauty in The Downfall (On-Going Review) ★ ★ ★ ★ ★

“Though I’m only five chapters into this, it has absolutely captured my attention with its prowess. One parts classic love story and diverse, well-researched fantasy, this bad boy hooks you from the get-go and keeps you reading! The characters are all fantastic and organic, especially the two leads in Regal and Keir, whose perspectives are both used to great effect to guide the story. That dual-perspective is a difficult task for many authors, but adds a lot of character to this story. The rest of the world is populated with rich cast, drawing from mythology and religion in ways both creative and believable. Writing-wise, this is very solid and well-edited! I spotted a missing comma or two, but that’s to be expected with any manuscript. The scenes of romance and action were written in equally compelling measure, and held my attention without a problem, There are some places, particularly where backstory comes in, where the dialogue and narrative repeat itself, but this can easily be edited. A worthy piece for anyone to read, and come back to! I certainly know I’ll be returning for more. (P.S, really and honestly loved reading your review to yourself. That’s a really smart idea, and it was interesting to see your perspective on               your own process)” – Caitlin E. Jones (Sep 4, 2015)

Loved it and want more! ★ ★ ★ ★ ★

“Right from the beginning, the story had me hooked. The beginning had me curious about what was going on, then hit with that love that was never meant to begin. That toppled with the flashback that came immediately after had me unable to put the book down. The character building, the flow, the drama, the twists! All of it had me on the edge of my seat, though I almost screamed at the end. Both from happiness and fury at being unable to devour the next book. Oh, almost forgot! When I saw that it was about an angel and demon. Hadn’t been expecting many other mythical creatures, thank you very much for not only disproving that! But, also breathing a life into the mythos you put in the story. As well as what you did with Gloria/God and religions, I lived it very much! I am not one for grammar or sentence structures, they are both things that are hard for me to do. Far as I could tell, except in a couple of sentences, it felt like it was already published. This story is something I will be recommending to everyone I can think to recommend too. I will also be buying the book to reread until the pages fall from the cover. When it gets published, not if but when this book gets published. I am that confident that this story deserves to get published” – Rosefirst (Sep 28, 2015)

Definitely Don’t Pass This One! ★ ★ ★ ★ ★

“As someone who got to help proofread/edit the original “story”, I got to see all the characters and the plot in its raw form. What Dani was able to turn that raw form in to, is absolutely amazing. The plot line is different, the characters are dynamic, and the writing style is very comfortable to read. I definitely think this one deserves to be published, and for the world of Mythos to be exposed! <3<3″ – Nanchey (Oct 23, 2015)

Leave a Reply

