ART: Painting as a Past Time

When I’m not in the mood to write or read, I find myself itching to draw. Sometimes, I’m not even in the mood to draw. That’s when I turn to painting to let go of some of my creativity.

This weekend I’m going to my friend’s house warming party. As a gift, I’m giving her a painting that I did over the course of a few days. Giving a painting as a gift has become a tradition over the last few years. It’s been a great way for me to paint subjects that I normally wouldn’t have considered, and to test my limits with new styles of painting.

This trend started with watercolor 5×7 prints that I painted for my fiance’s family one Christmas. I looked up flowers that represented the birth month of his mom, grandma, and aunts. They were quick and easy, each taking about a half hour to finish as I listened to Cover Drive on YouTube.

 

Then, my friends started buying their first homes. One couple even had a baby shortly after getting an apartment! At this time, I was into acrylic painting. So I asked them what they wanted for their house, and created 16×20 paintings over the course of a few days.

Next thing I knew, my friends were getting married! Of course, I offered to paint them a gift to celebrate their marriage. One even requested that I paint a canvas for their guests to sign as a guest book alternative. For another, I painted a rendition of one of their favorite engagement photos (which I also took for them.)

170cd501accc600384da8bc0c02de627.jpg

Next thing I knew, it was my turn to get married! Finally! So, naturally, I painted little watercolor invitations for my bridesmaids (and they said yes, of course.)

 

Overall, painting has become one of my favorite hobbies when I’m not deep into a book or writing. Of course, I still have a lot to learn! I know how to paint with watercolors, acrylics, and oils (thanks to several painting classes in school) but there is always room to improve.

Leave a Reply

