LIFE: Michigan Comic Convention Update

Hey everyone! With Michigan Comic Convention only a week away, I can happily say that I will be at booth F27 selling signed copies of The Art of Falling, on site commissions, prints, and buttons. If you are in the Detroit area this summer, please stop by the convention and say hello at my booth! I would love to get to meet you all in person.

MCC Map
Advertisements

LIFE: Come See Me at Youmacon!

 

I have been attending Youmacon for the last decade, and this year I decided to give the Artist Alley a shot. I had always wanted to participate and sell my work, but never had the chance to do so. After a long wait, I can confirm that I will be a part of Youmacon’s Artist Alley for 2019!

This is a huge moment for my author career, and as a fan of the local convention. Getting into the Artist Alley is difficult – hundreds of artists and vendors apply, and this year there was a juror process PLUS a lottery for those who passed the jury. I am humbled to have gotten through to share my work at the convention that started my love for cons.

So save the date! I will be selling more signed copies of The Art of Falling. Youmacon is held at the Renaissance Center and Cobo Hall from October 31st – November 3rd. Keep an eye out for further updates!

SWAP: Scarlett West’s “Forbidden Darkness”

One of the biggest challenges as a new author is growing your readership, and finding ways to spread the word about your novel. Over the last few weeks, I’ve been paying for ads on Facebook for my novel’s page to great success. However, I wanted to try out another way of promoting my novel in addition to helping other authors.

So, I’m doing a book swap with Scarlett West for her novel, “Forbidden Darkness.” Those who love fantasy and romance are sure to love West’s first installment in the Immortal Desire series. It’s available on Amazon Kindle for only $.99! Be sure to purchase your copy today for an evening of reading.

Forbidden Darkness (Immortal Desire Series Book 1) by [West, Scarlett]

The vampire race is dying, and to save it, one vampire will risk his life.

Vampire Reinis has been assigned to mate with a human to create a prophesied child that will save his coven. The rules are simple: get the job done and come home. Falling in love is out of the question.

Yet that’s exactly what Reinis has unwittingly done. Now he risks execution at the hands of his own coven for breaking vampire law.

Fresh out of a bad relationship, Sarma has no clue about the dark, seductive world Reinis is from. But when he marks her as his mate, she’s thrown headfirst into a secret world of vampires…painting a target on her back with a rival coven that will do anything to prevent the prophecy from coming to pass.

Fans of Bella Forrest’s A Shade of Vampire and Dannika Dark’s Keystone will fall in love with this hot paranormal vampire romance. Sink your fangs into the sizzling and thrilling world of the Immortal Desire Series.

LIFE: I’ll be at Michigan Comic Convention!

No photo description available.

Hey everyone! I’m not dead!

My goal to post every Friday was thrown out the window shortly after I got married last year (oh my god, I can’t believe it’s almost been a year already). Life has been crazy busy with moving into my home, raising Oxford, getting a job promotion, playing more D&D campaigns – including running my own – and trying to find time to work on the sequel. Honestly, it’s been an exhausting and exciting year, but not very share-worthy. The last thing I want to do is be unauthentic, and my authentic self has been very lazy and not wanting to write blog posts.

But I’m back with some big announcements!

To begin, my Facebook page for The Art of Falling has reached over 100 followers! I am so appreciative of so many people supporting my and my book. I can only hope each one has taken the opportunity to read the paperback or kindle version so they can look forward to the sequel.

As for the sequel, it has been a slow process, but I am working toward it. With my new job, my schedule is constantly rotating from mid-shift to night-shift, so finding a consistent writing schedule is impossible. My current goal is to work on one chapter a week, pending I’m not busy with other events (and let’s face it, my weekends have been booked every week since March.)

However, there will be one weekend that I am definitely dedicating to my writing. I will be selling signed copies of my debut novel at Michigan Comic Convention at Cobo Center August 16th – 18th! It will be the first time selling books to readers in person, and I can’t wait to talk with them about Regal and Keir’s story. Not only that, I will be doing on-site commissions and selling prints. More information will come soon, so keep an eye out for further updates.

D&D: SESSION 36

The story of Neebs and Associates is coming to a close. Let’s see what terrors they are currently facing.

SESSION 36

Players:

  • Ciaran (LVL24) and Basile (LVL26)
  • Alkaid (LVL 25)
  • Kass (LVL 23)
  • Rhaegar (LVL 25)
  • Neebs (LVL25)

The party floats in the void outside of Infernus, as those who were also once part of Neebs and Associates are dragged through the portal by ghostly chains: H’rathen, Dwayne, Stormageddon, Nergal, Skull King, Sbeen, and the alien-like corpse of a changeling who was once Toth.

Marven starts eating the corpse of Pendralar that Dwayne cooks. Sbeen is crying because the last time he saw them he had killed Basile. He sees Basile and starts air-swimming to him, but Basile nopes away from him. H’rathen floats over to the white guy and Ciaran tells him to speak with dead. H’rathen slaps him in the face but the spell doesn’t work. He can’t seem to communicate with anything outside of this plane of existence. He attempts to Plane Shift them away, but it fails. The group asks if the Heart of Mechanus can be used to help, and Pythos explains that if he stops casting magic, Lucifer will find them and kill them.

Deciding they need to find a place to stay, they all head to Ebonfire Keep, smacking into the ground as gravity starts working again. The bodies of the servants are strewn about the castle. The party divide themselves up into rooms where they can rest. Sbeen takes a chain and an axe to create grappling hook. He throws the axe into Pendralar’s side and pulls him in.

Kass studies the world a bit and discerns that those who enter Infernus are able to leave, but Lucifer is trapped. Additionally, there’s no reason for the prison to be locked if Infernus is dead. Neebs says we should go after Lucifer, and Rhaegar says that as long as we make it impossible for the portal to be opened, there’s no need to kill Lucifer. Basile says that Rhaegar should live in a box for the rest of his life since he has the key, and Rhaegar says that suffering of one can protect the planes of existence. Pythos also adds that he isn’t sure how long he can keep their shield on them.

Continue reading

D&D: Session 35

The story of Neebs and Associates is coming to a close. Let’s see what terrors they are currently facing.

SESSION 35

Players:

  • Ciaran (LVL24) and Basile (LVL26)
  • Marven (LVL 25)
  • Alkaid (LVL 25)
  • Biff (LVL 25)
  • Lorn (LVL 25)
  • Lass (LVL 23)
  • Rhaegar (LVL 25)

As the bog rolled into town, Rhaegar returned after visiting Jubair and retrieving the ancient sword. He joined the group in the Lair and started asking what the hell happened. They fill him in, and Marven tells Lorn to locate Pendralar. Lorn casts Locate Creature, but he’s unable to find him.

Marven heads into his true lair and passes through the tunnels that lead out of the town. As he exits, he sees that the swamp stretches out for miles and attempts to suck him down. While he is unable to feel anything, his body is slowly rotting away from the black miasma in the air. Rhaegar warns Marven, who shouts for Lorn to give him oatmeal. Lorn discerns that Marven has a soul curse that can only be removed with a wish or miracle. He goes to H’rathen and asks him to cast miracle on Marven. H’rathen agrees, as it “pains” Lorn to ask him, and by the power of Kord Marven is healed. Lorn asks H’rathen if he can talk to Kord to find Pendralar, and gets frustrated with H’rathen poking fun so he decides to just cast Commune to speak with Ioun himself.

Ioun tells Lorn the general direction of where Pendralar went, and told him to say hi to Ciaran, who was excitedly waving from across the room. They then start to say goodbye to their loved ones before heading out.

Continue reading

WRITING: The Battle Against Mara and Ember

Did you honestly expect me not to write a short story about the events that happened in the last two sessions of Neebs and Associates? Writing moments from Basile’s perspective helps me survive the long droughts of playing. Please enjoy the angst, the fluff, and adventure that has become Basile’s life.

 

The Associates arrived in the Abyss through a mist of shadows, passing through the Mortal Plane into the Realm of the Dead. A wasteland of dried earth greeted them. The sky was rusty orange, and rolls of thunder echoed through black clouds. Steam erupted with a loud hiss through cracks and geysers, filling the air with unbearable humidity and heat. Before them stood the Demon Lord Fraz-urr’blu and Mara, Leader of the Unholy Crusade.

A split second of recognition was all it took for Basile to fill with rage. At the sight of his mentor’s murderer, his hands burned as hellfire brewed in his palms. He watched as Alkaid summoned three more copies of herself across the field, the four of them separating to surround their enemies. Not too far away from her, Lorn touched Ragnarok’s side and enchanted him with Rhino’s Rush. The Rhino charged forward without hesitation, his sights set on the Prince of Deception.

As Ragnarok’s feet pounded into the ground, Mara grinned and thrust out his hand, sparks of magic flying from his fingertips. A wall of Force appeared in front of Fraz-urb’luu, but Ragnarok never broke stride. Lorn was quick to respond, countering Mara’s spell with his own Wall of Force. The two spells collided and cracked, shattering as Ragnarok plowed through and drove his horn into the Demon Prince.

With a shout that rivaled the thunder above, Fraz-urb’luu whipped his spiked tail around Ragnarok and held him down, trying to penetrate his armor and hide. Meanwhile, Mara’s eyes glowed white as he studied Ragnarok. Lorn telekentically flung dozens of arrows into the Demon Prince and Mara to distract them.

A crack of black lightning struck down from the sky into the earth. Ciaran held back a startled scream and grabbed Basile’s cloak for support as another Demon Prince was summoned onto the field near Lorn.

“No need to be scared, Ciaran,” Rhaegar said with a grin, Torch lighting ablaze in his hands. He looked over at Bubbles, who moved to shield their new comrade, Biff. “We’ve battled worse.”

Continue reading